Site Map

Miss Betty

Home Novels Short Stories Poetry Nonfiction Information Pictures Bookstore


Miss Betty

is a novel by Bram Stoker. This novel is a historical romance set in England during the Georgian era. It was first published in the UK by C. Arthur Pearson Limited, London, as the first book in their Latter-Day Stories series. According to a notice in the "Yesterdays New Books" section of the February 15, 1898 issue of The Standard, London, it was published on Valentine's Day. The book itself is a 202 page (plus 5 pages of advertisements) hardcover with a pink cloth cover stamped on the spine and front panel in green, white and black. Miss Betty has never been published outside the UK.

First edition book cover

Miss Betty UK Book Cover

C. Arthur Pearson Limited, London, 1898

Seven Golden Buttons

Seven Golden Buttons was a previously unpublished novel by Bram Stoker. It was originally written on a number of index cards in 1891. These cards now make up a part of Brotherton Collection at University of Leeds Library (Leeds). After the publication of Dracula, Stoker reused large sections of this novel to write Miss Betty. In 2015, the index cards were transcribed and published along with a copy of Miss Betty by Noel Montague-Etienne Rarignac. They appeared under the title Stoker's Doppelganger: Day and Night - Two Novels: Seven Golden Buttons and Miss Betty.


After the publication of Miss Betty, Stoker wrote a play based on the novel under the title Miss Betty. A Play in Four Acts. However, the play was never performed in front of an audience.


This novel is available as a:
  • Free PDF download (UK hardcover edition)
  • It can also be purchased online as a:
  • Library Binding Book Miss Betty (Collected Works of Bram Stoker)
  • The two versions can be purchased online as a:
  • Kindle eBook Seven Golden Buttons and Miss Betty
  • Early publication notice

    Miss Betty Publication Notice

    Pall Mall Gazette, London, March 8, 1898
    (Click image to enlarge)


    Please support this website by buying books through our links.